Because good research needs good data

Status message


Warning message

Just to let you know, we are no longer updating this section.
This is retained as a resource but nothing new has been added since late 2009. No further additions will be made by the DCC.


Date added 5 November 2009
Last edited 9 November 2009

Full Title

Dewey Decimal Classification


Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) is a library classification scheme, now in its 22nd edition, that divides information into ten classes, each with subsequent sub divisions. The copyright for DDC was acquired by OCLC in 1998.

Standards Developing Organisation




Lifecycle Actions

Access, Use and Reuse
Description and Representation Information

Standard Framework

Digital Repository Standards

Standard Type

Classification Standards

Current Version

June 2003 - Dewey Decimal Classification 22 [external]
Available for purchase from OCLC. You can also access an enhanced version of DDC 22 through : WebDewey

Further Information

Alternative Current Versions


Previous Version

1999 - DDC 21
Superseded. Not available online. Printed editions may be available from book sellers.

Referenced Standards